BYD SEALION 7 Pricing & Purchase Guide

Home › Models › BYD SEALION 7 › Pricing

BYD SEALION 7

Welcome to the BYD SEALION 7 Pricing & Purchase Guide. This independent guide outlines the available variants, the purchasing process, and the core specifications relevant to ordering this pure electric (BEV) mid-size SUV in Australia. Please note that trim names, specifications and prices reflect a compiled dataset (October 2026) and that BYD Automotive Australia may update variants, so every figure must be confirmed with an authorised BYD dealer or the official BYD Australia website. Official service/warranty page: https://bydautomotive.com.au/service-and-warranty.

Contents

Price range in Australia

BYD Automotive Australia does not publish prices on its own model page. The independent automotive site Drive lists the manufacturer’s recommended list price (MRLP) for the BYD SEALION 7, excluding on-road costs, as shown below (listing checked on 4 October 2026).

ModelMRLP range, excluding on-road costsVariants listed
BYD SEALION 7$54,990 to $63,9902

On-road costs such as registration, stamp duty and dealer delivery are not included, so the driveaway price will be higher and differs by state and territory. Drive shows the range across the variants and does not tie each price to a variant, so ask an authorised BYD dealer for the exact price of the variant and options you want. Prices change and are subject to manufacturer specifications and dealer terms, so confirm with BYD Automotive Australia before buying.

Premium RWD vs Performance AWD

The pure electric BYD SEALION 7 is offered in two distinct variants in Australia: the Premium and the Performance. Reviewing the specifications of the Premium RWD versus the Performance AWD is an essential step before consulting an authorised BYD dealer for a formal quotation. Both variants utilise a BYD Blade Battery with an 82.56 kWh capacity and share the same core dimensions, measuring 4,830 mm in length, 1,925 mm in width, and 1,620 mm in height, with a wheelbase of 2,930 mm. Both provide seating for five occupants, a front trunk capacity of 58 L, and a rear trunk capacity of 500 L. Towing capacity is not stated in the official brochure. Both models support AC charging up to 11 kW via a Type 2 port and DC fast charging up to 150 kW via a CCS 2 port, alongside Vehicle-to-Load (V2L) capabilities.

The Premium variant features a rear-wheel drive configuration with a single rear permanent magnet synchronous motor producing 230 kW of maximum power and 380 Nm of maximum torque. This allows a 0-100 km/h acceleration time of 6.7 seconds. The WLTP driving range is 482 km (NEDC 567 km). Its kerb weight is 2,225 kg, and the gross vehicle mass is 2,635 kg.

The Performance variant upgrades to an all-wheel drive system by adding a front squirrel cage induction asynchronous motor (160 kW and 310 Nm), achieving a combined maximum power of 390 kW and maximum torque of 690 Nm. It accelerates from 0-100 km/h in 4.5 seconds and has a WLTP range of 456 km (NEDC 542 km). The additional hardware brings its kerb weight to 2,340 kg, with a gross vehicle mass of 2,750 kg.

Both models feature a double wishbone front and multi-link rear suspension setup, combined with Frequency Selective Damping (FSD) shock absorbers. Braking is handled by ventilated and drilled front discs and ventilated rear discs. Inside, both variants are equipped with a 15.6-inch intelligent rotating touch screen display and a DYNAUDIO premium sound system with 12 speakers. The Performance variant adds specific features, including 245/45 R20 alloy wheels (compared to the Premium’s 235/50 R19 or 255/45 R19 options), painted front brake calipers, a heated steering wheel, and heated rear seats. All features and inclusions remain subject to manufacturer specifications.

Obtaining a Driveaway Price Quote

Official prices are not published on the official model page or in the brochure. Because there is no standard pricing list available in these documents, buyers must consult an authorised BYD dealer to receive an exact quotation.

When calculating the final amount, it is important to understand that a Manufacturer List Price (MSRP or RRP) excludes government charges, dealer delivery, registration, and stamp duty. A true driveaway figure combines all these mandatory costs. When inquiring about the final driveaway price and securing a spot on the order book in Australia, buyers will note that the on-road cost varies by state and territory due to different local government fees and registration duties.

Buyers should also account for the vehicle’s exterior colour when requesting a quote. Aurora White is the standard paint option. The Atlantis Grey, Cosmos Black, and Shark Grey exterior colours are classified as options and may incur an additional cost. The interior is available exclusively in Black. Always confirm with BYD Automotive Australia or their retail partner regarding current colour availability and option pricing.

Finance, Novated Leases and Corporate Purchasing

For buyers exploring options like an EV salary sacrifice or a novated lease in Australia, purchasing a pure electric vehicle can present different financial considerations compared to traditional models. Financing an electric vehicle is handled through standard financial institutions or specialised fleet management organisations.

While independent fleet providers may advertise specific lease structures, eligibility and the exact financial benefits depend entirely on personal tax circumstances, employer arrangements, and the final negotiated price of the vehicle. Buyers must consult an authorised BYD dealer to confirm whether they partner with specific financiers for leasing.

Ordering Process and Wait Times

Due to the dynamic nature of vehicle importing and distribution, details surrounding the Australian release date and final pricing can fluctuate before an order is finalised. Wait times depend on the chosen trim level, selected paint colour, and the current allocation of stock arriving at the port.

Once an order is placed, the dealership will provide an estimated delivery timeline. Buyers are encouraged to review the official terms and conditions of sale before paying a deposit. All delivery timeframes and final vehicle configurations are subject to manufacturer specifications and logistical constraints.

Ongoing Costs and Servicing

Owners seeking a pricing guide for capped price servicing should note that fixed service prices are not published in the official sources used for this document.

The servicing intervals for the vehicle are scheduled every 20,000 km or 12 months, whichever occurs first. Subsequent services are due at 40,000 km (24 months), 60,000 km (36 months), 80,000 km (48 months), 100,000 km (60 months), and 120,000 km (72 months). Because this model is a pure electric vehicle, there is no engine oil, no spark plugs, and no exhaust system to maintain. The routine service items recorded in the official service record for the EV series include replacing the brake fluid and replacing the e-motor controller coolant.

Under severe operating conditions, these maintenance intervals may need to be shortened. For a detailed breakdown of inspection items and approved fluid types, always refer to the official owner’s manual.

Warranty and Coverage Limitations

Understanding the warranty coverage is a vital part of the purchase process. The vehicle is covered by a new vehicle warranty of 6 years or 150,000 km, whichever occurs first. The power battery and the drive unit (which includes the drive motor and drive motor controller) are covered for 8 years or 160,000 km, with a guarantee of at least 70% battery capacity retention.

Certain components have shorter coverage periods. Paint application defects are covered for 1 year. The 12V lead acid starting battery and the emergency charging/discharging device (AC charging connection device and discharge connection device) are covered for 12 months or 20,000 km, whichever occurs first. Genuine spare parts imported by BYD Australia and installed by an authorised BYD Retailer carry a 12-month warranty from the date of purchase. Tyres are not covered by the BYD warranty.

The warranty excludes damage from normal wear and tear, failure to follow correct charging procedures, accidents, flood or water ingress from deep-water wading, or modifications. For example, unauthorised modifications or third-party conversions will void the relevant coverage. Always refer to the official owner’s manual for proper battery care instructions, such as keeping the power battery at 40%-60% state of charge if the vehicle is unused for more than seven days. Any high-voltage electrical work, such as touching the high-voltage orange cables, must be done by an authorised BYD dealer or qualified technician.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does this guide include comparisons with other electric SUVs in Australia?

This guide focuses strictly on the factual pricing, variant differences, and purchasing process for this specific model; it does not offer comparison data against competitors like the Tesla Model Y or other models in Australia.

What is the official driveaway price?

Official prices are not published on the model page or in the brochure. Buyers must consult an authorised BYD dealer to obtain an accurate driveaway quotation that includes all relevant state-based government charges, registration, and dealer delivery fees.

Are there additional costs for different paint colours?

Aurora White is the standard exterior colour. The other available colours—Atlantis Grey, Cosmos Black, and Shark Grey—are considered options and may attract a premium on the final invoice.

Is there a fixed price servicing program?

While servicing intervals are mandated at every 20,000 km or 12 months, capped price servicing prices are not listed in the official distributor documents. Buyers must confirm with BYD Automotive Australia or a local service centre for current maintenance costs.

What are the main specification differences between the variants?

The Premium features a single rear motor (230 kW) with rear-wheel drive, while the Performance adds a front motor for all-wheel drive, increasing the combined output to 390 kW. The Performance also includes larger 20-inch alloy wheels, painted front brake calipers, a heated steering wheel, and heated rear seats.

Where can I check the official ANCAP safety rating?

The official BYD website displays the ANCAP logo but does not state the specific star rating; buyers should check the official ancap.com.au website for verified safety ratings.

See Also

Sources

Disclaimer: This guide is for informational purposes only. Official specifications, recall details, and warranty terms are determined by BYD Automotive Australia (EVDirect). Always consult an authorized dealer or official owner’s manual.